Video does not show 'pork gelatine was used in Indonesian confectionary brand'

Updated on 21/01/2022 at 12:43

A video has been viewed hundreds of thousands of times in posts circulating in Muslim-majority Indonesia that claim it shows pork gelatine was used in an Indonesian confectionery brand. Consuming pork products is forbidden in Islam. But the claim is false: the confectionery brand has a halal certificate from the Indonesian Ulema Council, the top Islamic authority in the Southeast Asian archipelago. The posts actually shared footage from a Belgian broadcaster's documentary that does not refer to the Indonesian brand.